National Collegiate Athletic Association

The NCAA is the governing body of many intercollegiate sports.  Each college regulated by the NCAA has established rules on eligibility, recruiting and financial aid and falls into one of the three membership divisions (Divisions I, II and III).  Divisions are based on college size and the scope of their athletic programs and scholarships.  Student-athletes must register with the NCAA Eligibility Center to be eligible to play NCAA Division I or II sports in college.  Athletes playing in Division III do not have to register.

The NCAA recommends that student-athletes register at the beginning of their junior year in high school, but many students register after their junior year.  There is no registration deadline, but students must be cleared by the Eligibility Center before they receive athletic scholarships or compete at a Division I or II institution.

"Working with Student-Athletes." The College Board. N.p., n.d. Web. 23 July 2014.

More information is available online at

Important Links:

NCAA Eligibility Center

NCAA Educational Resources